Drivers across Nebraska can report their traffic crashes online as part of a new state reporting system designed to save time and postage.
In Nebraska, crashes involving an injury, death or at least $1,000 in property damage must be reported to the state within 10 days of the crash.
Law enforcement investigators have been able to submit their crash reports online for the last 10 years, Nebraska Department of Transportation spokeswoman Jeni Campana said.
In some cases though, police don't respond to noninjury crashes, so the involved drivers are responsible for reporting their crashes.
These drivers had to send paper reports to the Department of Transportation. A staff of 16 then scanned and manually entered the reports into the department's system, Campana said in a news release. Many two-vehicle crashes had two reports submitted by drivers.
And with over 50,000 crash reports filed annually, department officials sought to streamline the manual process by extending that online filing method to drivers, she said.
"It also provides the digital access our users have come to expect," Campana said in a news release.
Since the state began testing online reporting for drivers in June, 16 percent of crash reports have been submitted electronically, she said Tuesday.
And by December, at least one driver submitted an online report from 53 of the state's 93 counties, Campana said.
On average, more than 15,200 crashes in Lancaster County have been reported to the state each year, Campana said this week.
Online reports can be saved and finished later, and the system also informs users if they haven't completed the report within the mandated 10-day timeframe, a news release said.
Images can also be uploaded with the reports.