You have permission to edit this article.
Nebraska Democrats choose delegates in online convention

Nebraska Democrats choose delegates in online convention

  • Updated

The Nebraska Democratic Party elected its delegates for the Democratic National Convention and chose electors in the Electoral College in a virtual state convention Sunday.

The convention body also elected its state party officials and state central committee members.

Chair Jane Fleming Kleeb was reelected to a third two-year term and will also serve as the delegation chair at the national convention in August.

The party also elected five electors, including Ponca Chairman Larry Wright as their first Native elector, and Precious McKesson as its first black elector. Under the Electoral College system, electors cast ballots to elect the United States president.

Kleeb said in a news release she is confident the party will grow on its successes from the 2018 election cycle. 

"We continue to build our party with rural, urban and suburban voters," she said, "recognizing the history we can make together by electing the first women — Kate Boltz and Kara Eastman — to serve Nebraskans in (Congressional Districts 1 and 2)." 

Reach the writer at 402-473-7223 or


Get Government & Politics updates in your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News