Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Beatrice Country Club is set to host the 109th Nebraska Amateur Golf Championship this weekend.

The tournament is slated to begin on Thursday. There will be four rounds and it will conclude on Sunday.

It will be the fifth time that BCC has hosted the Nebraska Amateur Championship, the most recent being in 2003. They also hosted it in 1939, 1961 and 1964.

In 2003 at BCC, A.J. Elgert won his first of back-to-back championships. Kearney's Elmer McKinney won the first tournament hosted by BCC back in 1939.

The Beatrice Country Club is also celebrating its Centennial Anniversary. It opened in 1917 with sand greens. The course transitioned to grass greens in 1951 before going through major updates in the 1990s.

According to a press release, there will be several storylines going into this year's tournament. Last year, Omaha's Alex Schaake became the first junior to win since Ryan Vermeer did it in 1996. He is now coming off his first year competing at the University of Iowa and hopes to be the first repeat champion since Andy Sajevic in 2011.

Schaake is familiar with BCC, having won the Nebraska Junior Amateur Championship there in 2014.

This year's championship will feature a weekend finish for the first time since 2017. The tournament will begin with 156 golfers on Thursday and after Friday's round, the field is reduced to the low 60 scores and ties. The low score will be crowned the 109th Nebraska Amateur Champion.

Several Beatrice natives will be competing in the tournament, including Tyler Lawson, Dylan Burenheide, Graham Southwick, Kyle Murray, Jon Deines, Tyler Wagner, Paul Garnett and Nathan Koch.

The only Beatrice native to win the Nebraska Amateur Championship was Dave Maurstad at Scots Bluff Country Club in 1981.


Load comments