Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Nebraska men's basketball team will get a shot to bolster its schedule early on next season with a trip to the 2018 Hall of Fame Classic in Kansas City, Missouri.

The Huskers are part of a field that includes Missouri State, Texas Tech and Southern California. Games are scheduled for Nov. 19 and 20, 2018, at the Sprint Center.

Tickets for the Nov. 20 games are on sale now and will remain so through the end of March. Additional tickets will be available beginning 10 a.m. Aug. 4. Tickets are available through, or by phone at 1-888-929-7849.

"When building our nonconference schedule, we look for opportunities to play high-quality games as well as provide a great experience for our team," Nebraska coach Tim Miles said in a news release. "Many of our fans remember annually going to Kansas City for the conference tournament, and the Hall of Fame Classic gives our fans a chance to enjoy a great city and cheer on the Huskers in an outstanding tournament close to home."

Texas Tech is 23-8 this season and finished second in the Big 12 regular-season race. Head coach Chris Beard just signed a six-year contract with the school and is a national coach of the year candidate this season.

USC finished second in the Pac-12 and is firmly on the NCAA Tournament bubble with a 21-10 record while looking for their second consecutive tournament appearance.

Missouri State was the preseason pick to win the Missouri Valley Conference, but will have a new look next season. The Bears fired head coach Paul Lusk after an 18-15 season that included a 7-11 mark in the Valley.

The event is the culmination of the National Association of Basketball Coaches hall of fame weekend. The NABC will hold its hall of fame introduction the day before the games begin.


James Palmer was named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's all-district VI team. Palmer enters the postseason ranked fifth in the Big Ten in scoring at 17.3 points per game, while also adding 4.3 rebounds, 2.9 assists and 1.0 steals per game. He is the third Husker under Tim Miles to be named all-district (Terran Petteway in 2014; Tai Webster in 2017).

Players for the District VI team are chosen from Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. South Dakota State's Mike Daum, a Kimball native, and Creighton's Marcus Foster were also named to the team.

Reach the writer at 402-473-7436 or On Twitter @HuskerExtraCB.